ASTRONOMY COLLOQUIA
Spring 2007

ALL TALKS ON TUESDAYS AT 4:15 P.M. IN PEYTON HALL AUDITORIUM

 

DATE

 

SPEAKERS

 

TOPIC

 

E-MAIL

 

HOST

 

COMMENTS

 

February 6th

Mark Reid

Harvard-Smithsonian, Center for Astrophysics

Micro-arcsecond Astrometry with the VLBA
reid@cfa.harvard.edu
Goodman

arr - 2/5, 3:30pm
depart - 2/7, 11:30am
Princeton Junction

February 13th

Tommasu Treu

University of California, Santa Barbara

Luminous and Dark Matter in Early Type Galaxies
tt@physics.ucsb.edu
Shapley

arr - 2/12, 9:49pm
depart - 2/14, 6pm
Newark airport

February 20th

Alex Vilenkin

Tufts University

The Principle of Mediocrity
vilenkin@cosmos.phy.tufts.edu
Gott
arr - 2/20, 10:10am
depart - 2/21, am
Trenton airport
February 27th

Jonathan Lunine

University of Arizona,
Lunar and Planetary Laboratory

jlunine@lpl.arizona.edu
Chyba

arr - 2/27, 9:40am
depart - 2/27, late pm
Princeton Junction

***NOTE- Dr. Lunine will also be the speaker for the AAAP talk @ 8 PM. ***
Press Release

March 6th

Jack Hughes

Rutgers University

jph@physics.rutgers.edu
Draine
-
March 13th

Maxim Markevitch

Harvard-Smithsonian, Center for Astrophysics

mmarkevitch@cfa.harvard.edu
Goodman

arr - 3/13, 11:00 am
depart - 3/13, 10:45 pm
Philadelphia airport

March 27th

Josh Bloom

University of California, Berkeley

jbloom@astro.berkeleu.edu
Spitkovsky

arr - 3/26, morning
Princeton Junction
depart - 3/28, 6pm
Newark airport

April 3rd

Gijs Nelemans

Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Ultra-compact binaries
nelemans@astro.ru.nl
Goodman
arr - 4/2
depart - 4/4
April 10th

Lynne Hillenbrand

California Institute of Technology

From Protostars to Planets to Debris Around Young Suns
lah@astro.caltech.edu
-
-
April 17th

Crystal Martin

University of California, Santa Barbara

Feedback from Starburst and Active Galaxies over Cosmic Time
cmartin@physics.ucsb.edu
-
arr - 4/16, late
depart - 4/18, 7 am
Princeton Junction
April 24th

Toru Yamada

National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

Wide-Field Astronomy with Subaru Telescope:
An Extensive Search for Star-Forming Galaxies at z=3
yamada@subaru.naoj.org
-
arr - 4/23, noon
depart - 4/26, early am
Newark airport
May 1st

Carl Heiles

University of California, Berkeley

Direct Measurements of Magnetic Fields in the Interstellar Medium - The Milky Way and Beyond
heiles@astro.berkeley.edu
-

arr - 4/30
depart - 5/2

May 8th

Robert Kennicutt

Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge

Nearby Galaxies as Revealed by the Spitzer Space Telescope
-
-

arr - 4/30
depart - 5/11


Last updated April 26, 2007