ASTRONOMY COLLOQUIA - SPRING 2006

ALL TALKS ON TUESDAYS AT 4:15 P.M. IN PEYTON HALL AUDITORIUM

return to homepage

 

DATE
SPEAKER
AFFILIATION
TITLE
E-MAIL ADDRESS
HOST
COMMENTS
Feb 7 Ralf Bender Max-Planck-Institut fuer Extraterrestrische Physik The Triple Nucleus and Supermassive Black Hole of M31 bender@usm.uni-muenchen.de Tremaine ar 2/7 am
dep 2/8
Feb 14 Rob Caldwell Dartmouth Dark Energy -- Accelerating Towards the Vacuum robert.r.caldwell@dartmouth.edu Lupton

ar 2/14
dep 2/15

Feb 21 Eric Feigelson Penn State What are X-rays Telling Us About Star and Planet Formation? edf@astro.psu.edu Lupton

ar 2/19, 9pm
dep 2/22 am

 

Feb 28 Inese Ivans Carnegie Observatories Near-UV Observations of Low-Metallicity Stars: New Insights into
Neutron-Capture Nucleosynthesis Processes

iii@ociw.edu Knapp

ar Feb 27, 6pm
dep Mar 1, 3pm

Mar 7 Jim Kasting Penn State Gaia Revisited: the Interplay Between Climate and Life on the Early Earth kasting@geosc.psu.edu Lupton  
Mar 14 Meg Urry Yale University

Supermassive Black Holes in Deep Surveys

meg.urry@yale.edu Lupton  
Mar 21
- Spring Break -
Mar 28 Gary Bernstein University of Pennsylvania Handicapping the Dark Energy Derby garyb@physics.upenn.edu Lupton ar 3/28am
dep 3/28pm
Apr 4 Martin Elvis Harvard-Smithsonian CfA Quasar Structure and Cosmological Feedback
elvis@head.cfa.harvard.edu Lupton ar 4/3 eve
dep 4/5
Apr 11 Chris Chyba Princeton University New Constraints on Europa's Ocean cchyba@Princeton.EDU Lupton  
Apr 18 Mauro Giavalisco STScI Star Formation at High Redshift mauro@stsci.edu Lupton ar 4/18, 9am
dep 4/19, 9an
Apr 25 Ue-Li Pen CITA Searching for First Light in the Universe pen@cita.utoronto.ca Lupton  
May 2 Francis Halzen
(Spitzer Spring Lecturer)
University of Wisconsin- Madison High-Energy Neutrino Astronomy: Towards Kilometer-Scale Neutrino Observatories halzen@pheno.physics.wisc.edu Tremaine

 

May 9 Michael A'Hearn University of Maryland

Deep Impact: Excavating Comet Tempel 1

ma@astro.umd.edu Lupton ar 5/8 eve
dep 5/10 am

last updated 3 May 2006 by lipman@astro.princeton.edu