Astronomy Colloquia
Spring 2002

Princeton University
Department of Astrophysical Sciences
Peyton Hall Auditorium, Room 145
4:00 p.m.

Refreshments will be served at 5:00 p.m. in the Peyton Hall Main Hallway.

Tuesday, February 5 John N. Bahcall
Institute for Advanced Study
"The Sun as a Star"
Tuesday, February 12 Timothy A. McKay
University of Michingan
"Galaxies and Mass: SDSS Measurements on Halo Scales"
Tuesday, February 19 Lee S. Finn
Penn State University
"Gravitational Wave Phenomenology"
Tuesday, February 26 Alexander S. Szalay
Johns Hopkins Unversity
"Dealing with Large Datasets in Astronomy"
Tuesday, March 5 Mike Gladders
Caltech & University of Toronto
"The Red-Sequence Cluster Survey"
Tuesday, March 12 Richard Ellis
"The Origin of Elliptical Galaxies"
Tuesday, March 19 SPRING BREAK
Tuesday, March 26 Jeremiah P. Ostriker
Cambridge University & Princteon University
"Warm Dark Matter: A Viable Modification of the Cold Dark Matter Paradigm"
Tuesday, April 2 Max Tegmark
University of Pennsylvania
"Beyond Cosmological Parameters"
Tuesday, April 9 Robert Jedicke
Lunar and Planetary Lab, University of Arizona
"The Spacewatch Project : Unveiling the Origins of Near-Earth Objects" 
Tuesday, April 16 Roman Rafikov (graduate student)
"Intermediate Stages in Planet Formation" 
Qingjuan Yu (graduate student)
"Massive Black Holes in Galactic Centers" 
Tuesday, April 23 Christy Tremonti
Johns Hopkins University
"The Mass-Metallicity Relation of SDSS Galaxies" 
Tuesday, April 30 Brett Gladman
Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur
"The Orbital Structure of the Kuiper Belt and the Formation of the Outer Solar System"
Tuesday, May 7 Mary Putnam
University of Colorado
"Galaxy Construction Traced by High-Velocity Clouds"
Tuesday, May 14 Harvey Tananbaum
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
"Recent Results from the Chandra X-Ray Observatory"
Tuesday, May 21 Laura Landweber
Princeton University
"Some Recent Perspectives on the Origin of Life"

Last Updated: 29 March 2002